What is Expedited Reinstatement (EXR)?

Posted July 21, 2017 by Premier Disability Services, LLC®

If your benefits ended because your worked and had earnings, you can request that your benefits start again without having to complete a new application. While the Social Security Administration (SSA) determines whether you can receive benefits again, they can give you provisional (temporary) benefits for up to 6 months.

You may qualify for EXR if you:

i.   Stopped receiving benefits because of earnings from work,

ii.   Are unable to work or perform substantial gainful activity,

iii.   Are disabled because of an impairment(s) that is the same as or related to the impairment(s) that allowed you to get benefits earlier, and

iv.   Make the request within 5 years from the month your benefits ended.

Provisional benefits can be paid when you request EXR. This will include cash payments and Medicare/Medicaid coverage. They usually do not have to be paid back if the SSA denies your request. Provisional payments are paid for up to six months, but will end sooner if you:

i.    Are notified of an EXR decision,

ii.   Engage in SGA, or

iii.   Reach full retirement age.

If you or someone you know are unable to work due to a medical condition, please contact us for a free case evaluation!

Source: https://www.ssa.gov/disabilityresearch/wi/exr.htm ; https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/hallex/I-02/I-2-2-100.html

By: Joyce Trudeau of Premier Disability Services, LLC®

The Effect of Side Effects

Posted July 14, 2017 by Premier Disability Services, LLC®

Individuals who suffer from severe medical conditions are generally on medications to manage their symptoms, no matter what the medical or psychiatric symptoms. Often these medications have side effects that are nearly as troublesome as the original symptoms, but are necessary for lessening or containing the illness – such as chemotherapy or narcotic pain medications. Many medications have side effects such as fatigue, nausea, and confusion.

Side effects of prescribed medications are actual “symptoms” that must be considered in determining whether a claimant is disabled in a Social Security Disability claim.

It is important for a claimant to tell a doctor all about all of the side effects they experience, at every appointment. This is not only so that the doctor will know, but also because it is important that these symptoms be documented in the medical records. Judges look to the medical records to determine the credibility of the claimant and it is very helpful if the record documents these issues. Many computerized medical records have a check list of symptoms before a visit. These are better than nothing, but actual comments by the treating professional are more persuasive. You should also be sure to note these severe side effects when filling any disability forms.

If you or someone you know is unable to work due to a medical condition, please contact us for a free case evaluation!

By: Joyce Trudeau of Premier Disability Services, LLC®

Social Security Supports National Cancer Survivors Day

Posted July 6, 2017 by Premier Disability Services, LLC®

In 2017, more than a million people will be diagnosed with cancer around the world. This alarming statistic affects people and families from all walks of life. Chances are, you know someone who has been affected by this terrible disease. On June 4, the Social Security Administration observed National Cancer Survivors Day in the United States. In support of this day, Social Security encourages getting checkups to provide early detection, raise awareness through education, and recognize the survivors who have gone through this battle or are still living with the disease.

Social Security stands strong in their support of the fight against cancer. They offer services to patients dealing with the disease through their disability insurance program and Compassionate Allowances program. Compassionate Allowances result from medical conditions so severe they obviously meet Social Security’s disability standards, allowing the Administration to process certain cases quickly with minimal medical information. Many cancers are part of the Compassionate Allowances list.

There is no special application or form you need to submit for a Compassionate Allowance. Once Social Security identifies you as having a Compassionate Allowance condition, they will expedite your disability application.

By: Thomas Klint of Premier Disability Services, LLC®